Day 1
November 12th, 2015
08:30 - 09:45 AM • Registration

10:00-12.00 PM
Inaugural Ceremony
12:00-12.15 PM - Tea Break
12:15-01:15 PM

Key Note Address - Economic Growth, Human Development and Grassroots Citizenship: A Gender Perspective
Prof. Naila Kabeer , Gender Institute, LSE, UK

Chair: Prof. Mridul Eapen - Ex Member, Planning Board, Government of Kerala and Governing Body Member, The Gender Park
01:15 - 02:00PM - Lunch Break
02:00-02:45 PM

Presentation: High Level Committee Report on the Status of Women in India (2013-2015), Government of India.

Dr. Pam Rajput, Chairperson, HLC, New Delhi
Ms. Bindu Ananth, Chair, IFMR Trust, Chennai
Prof. Mridul Eapen, Hon. Fellow, CDS, Trivandrum
Dr. Ravi Verma, Regional Director, ICRW, New Delhi, Asia Office

Chair: Ms. Aparna Mehrotra, Senior Advisor, Coordination, UN Women
Plenary Session - 02:50 - 04:20 PM
Positioning Kerala (CDS, Trivandrum)
02:50-03:00 PM
Demography of Sex Ratios in Kerala
Prof .S. Irudaya Rajan,CDS
3:02-03:12 PM

Gender differences in the Utilization of Inpatient care by the Elderly
Dr.U S Mishra,CDS
3:14-03:24 PM
Landholding, Technology and Women’s Work
Prof. K N Harilal
03:26-03:36 PM

Women’s Participation in MGNREGS in Kerala: Context, Patterns and Implication
Dr. Vinoj Abraham
03:38-03:48 PM

International Migration from Kerala, Gender and Family
Dr. Praveena Kodoth
03:50-04:25 PM

Chair: Dr. Devika, Associate Professor, CDS
Tea will be served during the Session
Plenary Session - 04.30 - 06.00 PM
Exclusions: Caste, Ethnicities, Region
04:30-04:45 PM

Until How Long Caste Based Discrimination Would Remain Excluded?
Ms. Manjula Pradip , Executive Director, Navsarjan, Gujarat
04:47-05:02 PM

Women’s Movement in North East India

Ms. Monisha Behal, Executive Director, North East Network, Guwahati
05:04-05:19 PM

Nepal's New Constitution (20th September, 2015) & Issues of Inclusion
Ms.Rita Thapa, Tewa, Nepal
05:21-06:00 PM

Chair: Dr. Meera Velayudhan, Senior Policy Analyst (Gender and Culture), CESC, Ahmedabad
06:00-06:30 PM

Poster Display
Performance by
Dr. Mallika V Sarabhai and Team
‘In Search of the Goddess’
Tea will be served during the Session